Saturday 16th April

16 Apr

Well it’s 5am and I can’t seem to go back to sleep so I might as well use the time wisely and update the blog which I have been meaning to do for days now!

I am back on Bartlett ward, moved here on Tuesday evening in the end. Nice to get out of ICU, although it’s all very reassuring being there and the nurses are so lovely, it’s not a very peaceful place, having said that it was very quiet this time so not so bad. They looked after me very well and sorted my breathing out, and monitored my heart etc for a few days and now I’m just building up my strength a bit to go home and reducing medication.

I have my own room and everything I need in here and the nurses all know me pretty well by now so nice to have friendly faces around. I also have my anniversary flowers and cards all up in here which look lovely. Bad timing to have been in ICU where you aren’t allowed them but luckily I moved here before the flowers died!

I was initially hoping to get home today but I decided I wasn’t happy with that, I only went down to my usual amount of oxygen yesterday and still only just managing the necessities like washing. I am so tired but am sleeping quite well, apart from about 4.30 til 6 am at the moment. I will fall back to sleep after doing this blog and won’t be able to wake up for my coco pops!

The afternoons have been quite testing so far, I either get very breathless or I feel pretty grotty, or most days both! It’s obviously just an afternoon lull from tiredness I guess so not much I can do about that but was hoping to get out of the habit before going home.

So the latest plan is home on Monday and I am looking forward to it, I miss Phil and Disney a lot in hospital and I also miss my bed! The ICU beds are really comfy but I’m not so keen on the ward ones, how they can think they are big enough when I can’t stretch my legs straight in them I have no idea! What do tall people do?! I have my trusty v shape pillow with me though- that comes everywhere with me these days and makes most places more comfortable.

Sorry for the lack of update until now, I have just had no energy at all, I have hardly used my iPad or anything this week, not sure how the time has gone so fast when I have done absolutely nothing! That’s another reason why I’m not going home today, everything is more tiring at home, more to do for myself and further to go for things so will find it more difficult than being in here.

The good news is I haven’t lost any weight during this illness, I managed to keep eating, plus I have discovered hugely calorific White chocolate mochas from the bean and have been kept in constant supply (thanks Dad) πŸ™‚ think they have definitely helped on that front.

So the only other thing really to mention is my horrid mood! I am not a happy bunny and am really struggling with keeping positive at the moment. I am absolutely totally fed up of being Ill and that call can just not come quick enough as far as I am concerned. I find it quite worrying though that I have almost done a year on the list and not one even false alarm…. Makes me worry it’s just not going to happen…
Anyway, will leave these dark contents of my brain for another post and another day, think I had better try get some more sleep!

Hopefully will update from home soon! Xxx

5 Responses to “Saturday 16th April”

  1. Jo April 16, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Hey you πŸ™‚
    I’m pleased to hear the update – it settles me out here to know that you are improving….don’t be rushing things, ok xx You will be better waiting until your body is properly ready πŸ™‚
    We are having a lovely time in the sun but miss ya so will be a good reason to come home next week!!
    Keep strong ok….lotsa love xxxx

  2. Eve April 16, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Thinking of you kerry! Lots of love, Evie xxx

  3. Jo April 16, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    It won’t let me reply to your note about pink/purple so I’m writing it on here! I take it you’ve reverted back to purple?! I like it though πŸ™‚ xxxx

  4. Gerry Padden April 17, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Hi Kerry

    You get yourself home when you feel ready and not before young lady!! Can’t really imagine how the days may be so long in hospital and no doubt your patience may well be tested. I often see your dad around the Bean and now I know why……..white chocolate mochas for his lovely daughter. mmmmmmm!one of the few bonuses of being ill I guess? We all look forward to the day when you have to watch your weight and are forced to eat salad to stop putting on weight and mochas are a thing of the past!! Until then stay positive kidda!!
    Love and hugs
    Gerry and the gang at L’Etacq xxxx

  5. Joephine Monaghan April 21, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Hello Kerry, I have just started to read your blogg, and glad to hear you are on the mend, and homeward bound. I was on the transplant list a full year when I got my first false call, so hang on in there. Just 3 months after the false call, the real one came along. That was just 6 months ago and what a wonderful gift of life it has been. I too was at Harefield, and I can not begin to say what a wonderful team they are. I was out of hospital under 4 weeks. Please keep strong and positive, I know how you are feeling. Wishing you all the very best Josie (I have Cystic Fibrosis) x

Leave a Reply

