Wednesday 4th May

4 May

I thought it was about time I updated you all as to how I am getting on!

This is a rather exciting update because I am using a bluetooth wireless keypad with my ipad to type, it’s tiny so proving slightly harder to use- this may take a while 🙂 it’s quite cool though- bright pink and made of soft rubber so it rolls up after use.

Anyway, back to more important things- like … me!!

Its been a week and a half since I got home. It took a few days to settle and feel better and then the second half of last week was pretty good. I felt much better than I have done for a long time. its still very hard work just doing the basics like washing and eating but i’m afraid thats just how things are now, it wont get much easier. I need to try and move around a bit more and do some walking- when breathing allows, that will get my muscles all a bit stronger which be important during transplant. The good news is I have managed to bring my oxygen down to a lower level since coming home which is good progress.

The weight has gone up slightly, I am 37.2kg today but its not really enough- really need to work on that. I have been getting through the easter eggs very well but been having terrible heartburn with every single meal at the moment. Its not fun and stops me from eating enough.

I had a clinic appointment today at the hospital, it takes a LOT of effort and planning to get me and sufficient oxygen down there for not a lot to be said and then time to come home! I have to say I was impressed with myself managing the car journey without any fuss or panics. That sounds silly but would have been impossible 6 months ago.

The consultant was pleased with me today and gave me a new tablet to try for the heartburn so fingers crossed for that to work! The main thing I wanted to discuss was my impending appointment at Harefield on 3rd June and how I am going to get there. He seems to think that Harefield will agree to follow ups being ok in jersey given the amount of travelling I would have to do. We have left it that he will discuss with Harefield. I am sceptical that they will agree but we will wait and see!

If I do have to go, at the moment I am thinking of going by boat and staying over with Aunty Jane (who lives in a convenient spot and very kindly doesn’t mind a houseguest!) for a while after and just see if I get that all important call any quicker. Obviously there is a lot to sort out between now and then though so nothing set in stone at the moment!

It’s just so difficult to know what the best thing is, I could really do with a crystal ball at the moment!!

It’s now getting late and been a busy day for me so I am off to eat more Easter egg then get to bed! I am still sleeping well on my lovely sleeping pills and he said today I can carry on taking them so happy days!

Love Kerry xxx

2 Responses to “Wednesday 4th May”

  1. Jo Le Feuvre May 5, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    Great news re the heartburn tablet missus! I hope that can make you more comfortable at meal times 🙂

    Looking forward to hearing what will happen with your Harefield apt….keep strong in the lead up – fingers crossed.

    Luv Jo xx

  2. Maria weston-Dingle May 5, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Great to have the update Kerry.
    Love from the Cambridge Dingles.
    X

Leave a Reply

