Wednesday 11th May

11 May

Hi everyone,

I’m having a fairly good week, been feeling ok apart from a few aches and pains and the odd wheezy night. Had a couple of nights lacking sleep but not a bad week in all.

It’s been a busy week trying to get jobs done and plans made for my uk trip. I had a good conversation with the transplant team at Harefield, obviously we don’t know anything more about a future operation but they are supportive of my deciding to stay in the uk for a bit from the beginning of June. There is still a lot to work out but am getting things in order so I’m ready and trying to think of everything that needs to be arranged! It’s a big decision as to how I get to the uk, no options are ideal but I think we have decided on the overnight boat, I don’t really have any experience of this one but I’m told it’s the best if you aren’t a good traveller.

The most exciting part of this week has been my lovely kind friend Mim sorting my hair out for me. It had grown so long and thin and shapeless, I hated it. She has given me a lovely new style which will be much quicker and easier to manage and as Phil kindly put it- I ” look like a normal person again”. Such a one for compliments, my husband!! I am going to impress you all by adding a photo of it to this post- a little treat for those of you who read to the end! ๐Ÿ™‚
they say ‘a change is as good as a rest’ and that’s exactly how I feel this week. I have been adamant since I got ill that I don’t want photos taken of me, but I have suddenly realised I hardly have any for the last two years. So these are the first ‘poorly’ photos to be publicised, it sounds silly but it’s very weird to see yourself so differently to how you think you still look.

I don’t think I have much more to report this week, still munching through the Easter eggs, don’t they taste so much better than normal chocolate? Weight is coming on well 37.7kg now. I’m aiming to be 38. Something for my appointment on 3rd June so fingers crossed. The heartburn tablets seem to be doing their job (when I remember to take them enough time before the meal!) so that’s good news too.

Also just want to say, thank you to everyone who leaves me messages and emails, it’s always so lovely to hear from people and I’m very touched by all your kindness. ย I do reply, it just takes me a while I’m afraid. I can’t believe how many people actually do read my blog, I need to think of how to make it more interesting….. Apart from getting the obvious transplant that is!

Lots of love
Kerry xxx

8 Responses to “Wednesday 11th May”

  1. daddy May 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    so pretty xx

  2. Sue Devereux May 11, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Hi Kerry

    Lovely photo – you look really pretty

    Lots of love

    Sue x x x

  3. Jo Le Feuvre May 12, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    I love the new do Kerry ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s great to hear it’s been a good week – keep strong xx

  4. Mum May 12, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    I totally agree, Mim has done and great job and now you look even prettier. I am even more anxious when it comes to wielding the hair dryer…such pressure to keep up the new look!

    You’re a star

    Lol Mum x x x x
    (That’s lots of love not laugh out loud)!

  5. Lorna Peneueta May 12, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Beautiful, as always Kerry! I was always jealous of your eyes/eyelashes anyway, from someone with stubby blond lashes seemed so unfair that you had the combo “big doe eyes” AND l o n g curly lashes! The gorge new cut just compliments them.
    Abigail has inherited her fathers eyes (big, brown, long black lashes) and (thank God) my hair! (He has REALLY curly corse black hair, that I would not have a clue what to do with!)
    Hoping to get back to the rock soon, Chocolate (even easter eggs) just does not taste the same this side of the equator! Be great to catch up when we get back if your up to it. xxx Much love, always thinking of you. xxx Lorna

  6. Tanya May 12, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    So glad your auntie Jackie has directed me to your blog so that I can keep up with all your news.
    Fantastic new hair do, Kerry. You look wonderfull.

    Love and blessings

    Tanya, Tim and girls xxxx

  7. Mim May 13, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Hi Kerry Bell!!

    Your photos are great…you need to keep taking them! You look really pretty and beautiful in them ๐Ÿ™‚ It was just lovely to see you this week and have a girly chat…you certainly have not lost your wicked sense of humour through all of this which just goes to show what a strong cookie you are (a chocolate cookie…that would be!!). You truely are amazing. Hope you have a good week-end and keep eating the eggs!!!

    Loads of love and Huggs
    Mimxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    p.s. Dylan sends his love to you and says a big thank you for his egg…he eat it in bed! He also says he will do your garden for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Gerry Padden May 13, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    You look great……I much prefer Margaret with her hair short the same as she prefers me with a beard than without and flashing my double chins!!!
    You sound really good and positive despite getting fatter!! Keep it up kidda and you will come through this as you are a good little scrapper!
    I find your blog is fascinating as it is just so real and is a great account of what you and the family are going through….no need to gloss over things Kerry.
    The overnight ferry is great….a nice meal in the brasserie and a couple of pints of Guinness in the bar, a couple of hours kip watch the sun riseout of the sea then a lovely fry up for breakfast at 5-30am before docking at Portsmouth and then a nice leisurely drive to the hospital…….what more can a girl ask for??
    Take it easy and stay positive and don’t forget to keep smiling………..God loves a smiler!!
    Love from the Paddens at L’Etacq xxxx

Leave a Reply

