Monday 3rd October 2011

3 Oct

Firstly a word of warning for all you ‘criers’ out there reading my blog…. You will probably need tissues for this one!

It has been an incredibly sad week and it would be fair to say my family are all in shock still; the news has not quite sunk in.

My wonderful Grandma passed away last Monday (26th September) having been poorly in hospice for approximately 24 hours. She had been ill for some time but she certainly was not planning to leave us quite so quickly.

Last week she had a completely normal week- even went on a day trip to the UK to attend a friend’s funeral and she was out playing and (winning) bridge on Saturday night. By Sunday evening, she was deeply unconscious and just slipped peacefully away on Monday afternoon with most of her close family around her.

It has all just happened so incredibly fast, and especially being stuck away from Jersey and all the family, it is difficult to place everything in my head and believe what has happened. Her funeral is Friday 7th October, I just wish I was able to go.

There isn’t much I can say that will do her justice except that Grandma was such a wonderfully brave and strong woman. During the last couple of years, particularly since I have been ill too, we had become pretty close and I will miss her so much. She was always full of courage and optimism- right to the end. If I can be half the person she was, then I’m fairly sure I will get through whatever else life has to throw at me!

She is my role model and I cannot let these lungs beat me- as I will be doing it for her.

I could talk forever about Grandma but sometimes less is more…. And I will leave you with a couple of my favourite pictures:

At Jane's party

One of my favourite pics of Grandma- wearing her Easter bonnet! 🙂

At Mum's 50th party

At our wedding in 2010.

Mum and Grandma at our wedding, both looking lovely.

With Aunty Jane and Sue (L-R)!

I will update on my own situation in a few days.
Love Kerry xxx

4 Responses to “Monday 3rd October 2011”

  1. Maria Weston-Dingle October 3, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Lovely tribute to your Grandmother Kerry.
    X

  2. Gerry Padden October 6, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    A great role model indeed…….keep fighting lovely lady, you can do it………..a very encouraging report pet!!!

    Love from the Paddens xxxx

  3. Mim October 7, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Hi Kerry
    I am so sorry to hear this very sad news about your beloved Grandma. What a beautilful lady she was too. You have definately inhertited her bravery and strenght and I know that will help you through to your transplant and recovery. Our prayer and thoughts are with you as always Kerry and all of your family xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  4. Anonymous October 8, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Thank you for posting this Kerry – a very moving tribute – you are so brave!
    It was so sad that you couldn’t be there at the funeral, but everyone was thinking of you, so you were definitely there in spirit.
    It was a wonderful service and everything was entirely fitting. Mike recounted the events you have described so eloquently.
    It is good that you saw her so recently before that weekend’s events – memories to treasure, no doubt.
    Thank you for the photos also, both of her and your most recent ones. It’s good to see the reality of what you are coping with; the Bipap looks incredible! Don’t know how you do it…
    Love J and Pxx

Leave a Reply

