Thursday 12th January 2012

12 Jan

Hello from home! (my uk home). 

Settled in very nicely, arrived home on Tuesday evening after a long day of hanging around the hospital just waiting for a few last bits from pharmacy! I was greeted by Aunty Jane and a lovely banner and balloon, very special 🙂 I had a wonderful home cooked casserole, decent mash potato and lots of veg made by uncle Jim and wolfed down the whole lot. Then I slept like a baby until 10am the next day in my new upstairs bedroom!

Wednesday I went for walk down to 5 houses down the road with Mum and back, she pushed the wheelchair in case I needed it, which I didn’t! Then I requested corned beef hash for dinner (my favourite! And can’t believe Jane had never tried it before!) then I decided to have a bath. Now the physios told me there was no way I would manage a bath for a few weeks yet cos I wouldn’t be able to get out. Me, being me, decided I wasn’t going to listen to that because I wanted a bath. I tried getting in and out first with the bath empty and found it easy enough so decided to go for it! No problems and felt lovely going to bed after 🙂 I decided that I needed some overnight snacks having been hungry the night before which really doesn’t help my constant nausea, so asked mum to make me a bovril sandwich and I had some grapes and an apple and some crisps!

Today we drove into Walton and had mcdonalds for lunch, then I came back and did 5 lengths of the patio and back outside (probably the furthest I’ve walked so far). 

Are you noticing a recurring theme? FOOD!! I am hungry ALL the time…. Mum has been laughing at how greedy I am!

I don’t have much more to update you on really, walking is coming on and most of the time unaided, I still need my stick for stairs and outside tho to help with balance. My legs are still weak and a bit wobbly. basically all going really well, still get very tired towards the evening and struggle with the tummy and sickness problems but with the amount of strong drugs I’m on this isn’t surprising. Hopefully will all settle with time.

I just still can’t quite believe that the huge mountain of the operation is behind me and all has gone so well since. These lungs are just doing so well, I hope I am doing my donor proud. I found out some details on the donor before I left, which I don’t feel is right to post on here, but it’s a strange thing to think about and I cannot describe the gratitude I feel towards them for the gift they have given me.

I’m back to Harefield on Monday for my first outpatients appointment which will be once a week. I probably won’t update the blog til after that now- unless I do something amazing before then!

Phil is over this weekend and looking forward to seeing him, not seen him since new year. It’s also Disney’s 4th birthday on Saturday, hope mum and dad spoil her as she will be staying with them…. Can’t believe she is 4 already!

Love Kerry xx

8 Responses to “Thursday 12th January 2012”

  1. Alison Chevassut January 12, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Fantastic! So good to hear of the amazing progress, and of your healthy appetite! love from us all, Alison xx

  2. Jackie Matthews January 12, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Fantastic progress Kerry! All great news. Keep enjoying the food!
    Jackie x

  3. Debbie Pira....was Debbie Lewis January 12, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    I have never left you a comment before….but I have been reading for a long time..thanks to Jacquie! I cannot tell you how many tears I have shed over your posts…sadness and so much joy! I just wanted to say hello and let you know you have been in our thoughts and prayers.
    Much love to you and all your family.
    xx

  4. Maria Weston-Dingle. January 12, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    Kerry,
    We are so enjoying all your triumphs and especially the food details. Uncle James can’t wait to cook for you and,of course, Niall will do one of his ‘famous’ pudding.
    Love,
    Maria (and boys)
    X

  5. Mim January 13, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Hi Kerry
    Your posts are a joy to read and a lovely start to the day!!! You are doing wonderfully and you so deserve it. So glad your back home too and finally enjoying food again. You are a wonder …..I can see you getting in and out of the bath to check it all out first!!! Just made me smile:)
    Will speak to you soon
    Love from the Poingdestres xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  6. John Wileman January 13, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Happy Birthday Disney before I forget. The pharmacy thing is something I cannot forget. When I was released from Portsmouth a couple of years ago, the pharmacy wasn’t ready – so I missed the last Christmas ‘plane home – and had to spend the holiday with a niece in Hertfordshire; – no hardship because she routinely entertains the whole family; – though Sandie my wife couldn’t be there, nor son James, his wife or the twin grandchildren.

    I couldn’t make out why I couldn’t get out of the bath; – you were wise to do a dry run. I discovered that I had no strength in my arms. Eventually I had an electric chair fitted; – not so bad as it sounds. It simply charges up between baths.

    Keep walking; – my best advice is to be on the level for starters, gradually increasing to slopes.

    Hope all goes well at Harefield.

    Pray for you every morning – and sometimes during the day and in the evening. You’re grateful for the donor – and it’s my guess that the person would rejoice over your considerable progress. Keep it up – and have courage. The person is having second life in a sense.

    We prayed on Monday at the St. Ouen’s Prayer Lighthouse.

    Yours,

    John

  7. Anonymous January 13, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    Well done Kerry, you are doing great…………can’t wait to see you looking fit and fat…………keep up the good work……..have a lovely time with Phil this weekend.
    love
    The Padden gang xxxx

  8. Gerry Padden January 13, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    well done Kerry, you are making great progress, cant wait to see a picture of a fit and fat Mrs Maletroit…………….keep on eating and exercising…………….have a lovely weekend with Phil.

    Love and hugs

    The Padden gang xxxx

Leave a Reply

