Clinic- 23rd January

25 Jan

Hi everyone, just a quick update this week!

Clinic went well on monday, the doctors are really pleased with my progress. My lung function is up to 60% which the consultant said is fantastic at my stage- particularly given how ill I had got before transplant. They were pleased with all my bloods and took some more nebs away, leaving me on just 1 a day now which will hopefully stop soon anyway. More meds will stop after 3 months. The next step for me is to just carry on eating and walking etc and I need to make myself a bit more breathless when I exercise as this will increase my lung function more. It feels wrong making myself breathless now although will make sure I do! Im now walking completely without any aids, even on the stairs and I can now manage to sit on the floor and get up again (just about!).

This week has been really busy, sunday I went out for lunch, monday was a tiring day at clinic, tuesday I went food shopping and today I saw the GP, sorted all my old medication out that I don’t need anymore and cooked dinner for the first time in about 3 years!

It feels so good (although a little strange) to be out and about and treated like a normal person…. its a bit like the last few years haven’t happened! I am getting incredibly tired by each night though, its a fine balance between pushing myself and doing too much.

I keep being asked for a current photo, so at 9 weeks today post transplant- here it is….

I’m now looking forward to a weekend with Phil. Hope you all have a nice weekend 🙂 xx

7 Responses to “Clinic- 23rd January”

  1. Lorna Peneueta January 26, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    Looking good Kerry! Are those cheeks I can see??! So pleased to see and hear that you are doing so well, keep it up! xxx

  2. Maysa January 26, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Hi Kerry

    You are doing brilliant and the right things to be successful and u will be! For the breathless will take a wild to improve it but with ur effort and u should do hard execirse to increase ur lung function to reduce the breathless, but u will improve it.

    You look massively different in these pictures in comparing when I saw u. U put a little weight but u need more.

    Finally, I am very happy that u overcame all the previous misrable and dark life, but with ur determination and strength u managed.

    xxxxxxx
    Maysa

  3. Carolyn Eley January 26, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    Hi Kerry,

    You look great and, dare I say it, very comely. You are the only one of my acquaintances who is delighted to be putting on some pounds!!! Well done… the only way is up, as they say.

    Huge hugs,

    Carolyn and David xxxxxxxx

  4. John Wileman January 26, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    Hi dear Kerry,

    You look really good – and are clearly making great progress. I quite understand the need to push yourself a bit; – it’s a way of strengthening you. I still find it a bit difficult to get up again if I’ve looked in the fridge – but I’m nudging 74. Ronnie Corbett – the smaller one – says that at at his age – if he he stoops to tie his shoe-laces, he has to look around to see if there’s anything else he can be doing whilst he’s down there.

    Keep praying daily.

    Yours,

    John

  5. graham Kelly January 26, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    hi kerry keep up the good work you look much healthier. keep walking

  6. Maria Weston-Dingle. January 26, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    I’m such a proud Auntie.
    X

  7. Cheryl Emmanuel January 29, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    Delighted to read of your good progress!

    Best wishes,

    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

