Latest update

11 Jul

Yesterday my lung function tests were still down and I now have a sore throat and didn’t feel great yesterday. I slept for hours so hopefully that will help and I am feeling a bit better today.

Just seen the Doctors, after a few days of uncertainty, they have decided I have pneumonia and rejection although biopsy results were non specific, ie; (typically for me) we don’t really know what the problem is.

The treatment plan for now is to double my anti rejection drugs and 6 weeks of high dose steroids. I need to be carefully monitored for the time being, keeping a very close watch on lung function. Hopefully these drugs will do the trick and prevent any damage to my lungs.

Im really disappointed as I was doing so well and I’m a bit worried about the long term effects of this. Plus I find it scary how I can have caught something as bad as pneumonia in my precious new lungs without knowing it. How long have I had it?

Anyway, waiting for final confirmation but the good news is I can leave hospital and get home to Janes, hopefully today 🙂 I can’t wait. I will be followed up in clinic next week and then can make some decisions as to when I come back to Jersey xxx

6 Responses to “Latest update”

  1. Carolyn Eley July 11, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Dear Kerry, We were so sorry to hear about your setback. I know how worrying this must be for you and the family. But you are strong, Kerry, and you will get through this. Keep the love light shining. We are all thinking of you and sending you loving, healing thoughts. Lots of love, Carolyn, David and family. xxxxxxxx

  2. Joy and Andy from Fryup July 11, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    Hi Kerry
    So sorry you are not well, we’ll be thinking of you and as ever you are in our prayers

  3. Anonymous July 11, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    So sorry to hear you re not too good at the moment Kerry. Stay strong and positive and keep smiling. Best wishes and love from Lisa (Le Jehan) xxx

  4. Mark W July 11, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Keep positive and I am sending you all my best wishes. You will soon be back out in the world and back to full health again i am sure:)

  5. Anonymous July 11, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Kerry, you sound understandably worried, Im so sorry you’re having to go through this after that tough fight and successful operation.
    Trust in the medical staff, we all are willing you to get through it, surely nothing will be as tough as what you’ve been through? I know it’s a worry not having all the answer.
    Take care and let us know if you need anything at all Karen xx

  6. Mim July 12, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    Hi Kerry
    That is bad news…..but you are still doing exceptionally well though!!! 🙂 You need to use that amazing back bone you have to get past this and stay positive at all times:) We are all thinking of you and everyone here sends you all their love and good wishes.
    Loads of Luv & a big hug xxxxx

Leave a Reply

