First Annual review!

5 Oct

Hello again!

Just a quick update on my second day at Harefield yesterday which I’m delighted to say brought great news πŸ™‚

The nasty tube came out my nose finally about 11am and then it was a usual clinic day. I asked to see Dr Reed who is ‘number 2’ in terms of Doctor hierarchy as I had a few questions I wanted to ask.

She was really pleased with everything, all my blood testes were spot on, with kidney and liver function etc all good. Drug levels were all fine. X ray and CT scan looked good (relieved to hear about the CT scan as this was my first one after the rejection). Lung function was back up to normal which is good but could still do with some improvement in my opinion. I won’t hear about the reflux test for a few days although one poor man in clinic who had his test 2 weeks ago was told yesterday that the probe wasn’t working correctly so he and quite a few other patients have to have the test done again. I really hope that doesn’t happen to me, I will not be a happy bunny!!

I asked about all the side effects I’ve been having and whilst there isnt anything to relieve these, the Dr reassured me that they are all perfectly normal and nothing to worry about.

We discussed my mental struggles at the moment and decided it best that I go back on the low dose of Citalopram. There is no harm in continuing this drug if it makes me feel better. She did say that quite often Transplant patients have an initial almost euphoric period which is followed by quite a low as the reality of everything sinks in, which sounds like what I am experiencing. She did say that I am extremely lucky that I have no memories of the really awful time I went through just before transplant as she thinks I would find things very difficult if I remembered more.

The absolutely best news of all is that I’m allowed to start thinking about holidays now πŸ™‚ obviously I have to make sensible choices and there are certain guidelines to stick to but the world is now my oyster! πŸ™‚ I think the first time that I’m sitting by a pool on holiday, I will then feel I am truly better!

I met some really nice guys at clinic yesterday, GeoffG introduced himself to me as a blog follower which was really nice and he had his transplant just after me and has had similar rejection problems etc as me recently so it was good to compare notes! We then also started chatting to 2 other men who were 17 and 18 years post transplant and looked amazing (despite one of them waiting for a new kidney now). I love meeting people like these, their advice is always invaluable, not to mention inspiring.

So all being well, my next appointment is 14th January… A whole 3 months time πŸ™‚ a new record!

I was finished nice and early and my friend Leanne and Her husband Donald came to pick me up and bring back to their house where I am now staying. For those of you who don’t know, Leanne and I used to be flatmates so it’s like the good old days (just a bit less alcohol and earlier nights!!).

When I think back to this time last year, things were so awful, the next few weeks were without a doubt the worst and looked like they would be the last of my life. I just cannot believe how far I have come in just a year. I am also very aware that this time last year, there was a lovely lady out there walking around who did not know that she was going to save my life. Her family have experienced a very different outcome to me and I will never forget that.

Well, think that’s all for now xxx

Leave a Reply

